A Bigger Splash Movie Review 

​While vacationing on a Sicilian island with her boyfriend (Matthias Schoenaerts), a rock star (Tilda Swinton) receives an unexpected visit from an old flame (Ralph Fiennes) and his seductive daughter (Dakota Johnson).
I had never heard of this movie before renting it but I’m glad I took a chance on it. Though, it might be a little too artsy for some people… it’s still worth watching at least once.
The entire story revolves around the familiar yet uncomfortable relationship between four people. Rock music is also a central theme but the only rock music played throughout the movie is that of The Rolling Stones.
Tilda Swinton plays Marianne Lane, a well known but fictitious rockstar who cannot speak due to a recent vocalcord surgery. She isn’t very believable as a rockstar but still gives a strong performance.
For me, the best performance comes from Dakota Johnson as Penelope Lannier. I mean, forget her in Fifty Shades of Grey. Her role in this movie is definitely worthy of praise and admiration.
I will admit that the first half of the movie is slow going but once it reaches the half hour mark the story takes an unexpected turn. I refuse to reveal exactly what happens. That would only spoil it.
If you like artsy movies with a rock theme and a little bit of mystery then I recommend watching A Bigger Splash.
On a scale of 1 tamale to 10 tamales I give it 8.5 tamales! 😎

Author: noiselessmadman

I write about movies, current events, art, literature, music and lots of other awesome stuff!

Leave a Reply

