Nerve Movie Review 

​Nerve is about an online dare game, in which people give participants anonymous dares for money. The participants compete with each other to win the grand prize as the dares get tougher. Things get worse when the tasks get increasingly dangerous and lives are at stake.
I didn’t know what to expect from Nerve. I mean, I knew it was based on a novel but the only thing I knew about the novel was that it has a lot of mixed reviews. Still, I enjoyed this movie a little more than I thought I would.
I suppose one could compare it to similar movies such as The Hunger Games but in truth… it’s more like a postmodern Roman gladiator games with a lot of social media influence.
Emma Roberts and Dave Franco give fairly decent performances as Vee and Ian, the game’s newest popular couple. Their dares start out pretty simple but eventually become much more risky and lethal. I won’t give away too many details but there are some very interesting twists and turns. I was also really surprised by the ending.
If you like suspenseful movies that highlight the pitfalls of social media then you might enjoy watching Nerve.
On a scale of 1 tamale to 10 tamales I give it 8 tasty tamales! 😎

Author: noiselessmadman

I write about movies, current events, art, literature, music and lots of other awesome stuff!

Leave a Reply

