Suicide Squad Movie Review 

​Suicide Squad is a good first attempt at a movie that stars and focuses on comic book villains. It is not total crap like some reviewers have claimed.
I really didn’t have high expectations before watching it. Though, I do consider myself a pretty big DC Comics fan and I was already familiar with the basic story of the Suicide Squad. More than anything else I was interested in seeing a live action version of this group of bad guys on the big screen.
The Squad consists of more than one psychopath but none of them are crazier than Harley Quinn (Margot Robbie). She really takes the cake, scratch that, she destroys the cake and laughs her ass off while doing it! Margot Robbie gives an awesomely accurate performance as Harley Quinn! There’s really no other way to describe it.
Will Smith gives an okay performance as Deadshot. Still, I can’t help but think that he shouldn’t have turned down a chance to be in Independence Day Resurgence. 
Jared Leto’s portrayal of the Joker is… different. And by different I don’t mean better or worse than Heath Ledger’s mindblowing Joker. Leto definitely brings something new to the role but I can’t quite say if I liked it or not. Though, he did make sure to keep some of the Joker’s mannerisms. Such as his iconic laugh and narcissistic personality. I would probably have to watch the movie a couple more times in order to really absorb Leto’s Joker. If you’re expecting him to remain true to the classic Joker we’re all used to… you will be disappointed.
Other notable characters include El Diablo, a guy who can create and manipulate fire, Killer Croc, a human/crocodile mutation, Captain Boomerang, a long time enemy of the Flash, and Enchantress, a super powerful witch. Enchantress is actually the super villain that the Squad is forced to confront. (That scene alone is quite intriguing.)
Overall, the story is decent but to me it just seems like a cool side story that got stretched out in order to fit a two hour running time. Still, it’s a very well made movie and I’m definitely looking forward to the sequel and many more sequels after that.
On a scale of 1 tamale to 10 tamales I give Suicide Squad 8 tamales! 😎

Author: noiselessmadman

I write about movies, current events, art, literature, music and lots of other awesome stuff!

Leave a Reply

